a nod to Maine

my husband is from Maine and we’ve been visiting every summer since we started dating. it is truly a beautiful place.

for those of you who aren’t familiar with Maine, its nickname used to be “Vacationland”. I thought that was a perfect nickname! then this past summer I learned that they changed their nickname to: “Maine – the way life should be”.

WHAAAAT. even perfect-er!!!

I was enjoying our annual shopping trip in downtown Belfast and saw this in one of the new stores:

it was very inspiring. I didn’t quite love the design, but it stuck in my mind.

fast forward six weeks —- my husband and I were fortunate enough to go back to Maine for a second visit and we stopped by a fairly new store in downtown Belfast named Fiddlehead Artisan Supply. a very cute crafts store filled with mostly fabrics and a small (relative to what I’m used to in NYC) selection of crafting supplies.

Image from Fiddle Head Artisan Supply’s instagram.
When I saw their dmc floss display, I knew I wanted to embroider that nickname! and so a project was born! I have been working on it on-and-off for the past month and I’ve finally finished embroidering! The final project to come in the next post..

Happy [mediocre] crafting!

Leave a Reply

